Rotary Recognizes Ian Andrews With Paul Harris Fellowship

Ian Andrews

Ian Andrews, executive director, LakewoodAlive, has been awarded a Paul Harris Fellowship from the Rotary Club of Lakewood and Rocky River in recognition of his leadership in the Lakewood community.

Called “the engine behind LakewoodAlive,” Andrews organizes many Lakewood community events throughout the year including Light Up Lakewood, Summer Meltdown, and Chocolate Walk. He also helps coordinate home improvement projects for elderly and/or low-income homeowners.

Paul Harris Fellowships are given to recognize exceptional contributions made by individuals who further Rotary's mission of encouraging the ideals of service as a basis of worthy enterprise, high ethical standards, community service, and the advancement of international understanding and goodwill.

Named for Paul Harris who founded Rotary in 1905, the award was established in his honor in 1957 and is usually reserved for individuals who contribute $1000 US to the Rotary Foundation.

A community development corporation with a mission to foster and sustain vibrant neighborhoods, LakewoodAlive sees housing is the foundation of Lakewood’s economy. During a given year, as many as 500 volunteers contribute an estimated 8,500+ hours to serving LakewoodAlive and the community, focusing on Housing Outreach, Special Events and Committee Participation.

The Rotary Club was one of only 11 Northeast Ohio clubs that achieved 100% member giving to Rotary International’s Annual Fund, earning the club the opportunity to award a Paul Harris Fellow to an individual who has made a difference in the community.

Gifts to the Annual Fund help Rotary clubs take action today to create positive change in communities at home and around the world. Contributions help strengthen peace efforts, provide clean water and sanitation, support education, grow local economies, save mothers and children, and fight disease.

Club members attending the event were Jim Lechko, Jon Clark, Steve and Linda Clark, Mark Bacon, Vicki Foster, exchange student Este Orpheu Pinheiro de Castro, and Marjorie Corrigan.

Read More on Civic Groups
Volume 16, Issue 4, Posted 4:27 PM, 02.18.2020