City Council

May 1, 2017 City Council Meeting

Animal Safety and Welfare Advisory Board The Council passed Ordinance 19-17, revising the Animal Safety and Welfare Advisory Board code to provide greater authority on the Board’s part to advise on animal-related issues. In the past, the code restricted the parameters of the Board to issues specifically referred to it by Council.

Cornucopia, Inc. Concessions Lease for Lakewood Park 2017 Summer Season

In the last Public Works Committee Meeting, the City worked with Cornucopia, Inc. to revise the proposed concessions lease at Lakewood Park. Ordinance 20-17, legislation introduced to contract with Cornucopia, Inc. for the 2017 summer season at Lakewood Park, provides a space for the non-profit to sell healthy concessions to the public.

Read Full Story
Volume 13, Issue 10, Posted 3:01 PM, 05.16.2017

City Council: April 17, 2017

All members of Council were present except Councilman Litten, whose absence was excused.

Public Works Committee Report 

The Public Works Committee met on April 10, 2017 to discuss Ordinances 18-17 and 20-17. Present at the meeting were Councilman Nowlin (chair), Councilmembers Litten and Marx, Director Beno, Assistant Law Director Swallow, representatives from AT&T and and representatives from Cornucopia, Inc.

Read Full Story
Volume 13, Issue 10, Posted 4:19 PM, 05.02.2017

March 20, 2017 City Council Meeting

Meeting Highlights

University Tees Economic Grant Approved

Adopted Resolution 8923-17 detailed entering into an economic grant agreement with University Tees, issued in the form of annual rebates not to exceed $100,000. Jeff Frederico, the Director of Finance for University Tees, spoke of the company's mission to Develop People and Change Lives (DPCL), explaining, "the more you invest in a person, it's a win for the person, the company, and the community." Frederico expressed University Tees love of Lakewood and their gratitude for the ability to expand through the grant. Frederico stated the company is growing so rapidly that securing more space is vital for future growth, and this grant will not only provide space but will also encourage new employees to move to the city of Lakewood. The council expressed excitement for the development and requested scheduling a tour of the Screw Factory (13000 Athens Avenue) University Tees facility.

Read Full Story
Volume 13, Issue 7, Posted 5:10 PM, 04.04.2017

Ward One Councilman Anderson Seeks A Second Term

Process matters. Whether it concerns decisions regarding Lakewood Hospital, approval of the city's annual budget or the identification of which streets to repave in any given year, I have consistently advocated for due diligence and procedure while serving as Lakewood’s Ward One elected Member of Council since 2011.

As many may know, I was appointed to an unexpired term on Council in 2011, then was elected to a full term that November. My reason for wishing to serve on Council is to help every Lakewood neighborhood meet and exceed its potential. Quite honestly, as a husband, father of four and a landlord, Lakewood is the greatest place I have ever lived and I simply want it to be the best it can be for everyone.

As Ward One Councilman, I stand on my record of originating and promoting ordinances, codes and strategies to provide more tools to effectively deal with challenging properties and neighbors. I also have worked hard to improve the city's strategy for advancing the quality of Lakewood’s housing stock. There is always more work to do in these areas but I feel Lakewood is more than just on the right track. I want Ward One and all of Lakewood to know that there is much fire left in my belly and that I enthusiastically seek a second term on Lakewood City Council.

Read Full Story
Volume 11, Issue 20, Posted 11:29 AM, 09.29.2015

Elect Patrick J. Metzger To Ward 1 Lakewood City Council

One of the great things about Lakewood is that there are plenty of volunteer opportunities to jump into, get involved in the community mix and ways to try to make a positive impact on the way things happen in town. Another great thing is that there are so many people willing to be involved, give their time, be productive and try to accomplish good work. The will for Civic Involvement is simply one of Lakewood’s strongest suits. Much of what I’m tied to in Lakewood includes these same things – things that are satisfying to me personally and helpful to others. And so, I’d like to bring some focus to this spread of involvement by asking you elect me to the Lakewood City Council as a Ward 1 councilman.    

Read Full Story
Volume 11, Issue 20, Posted 11:29 AM, 09.29.2015

Mike Summers To Be Lakewood's New Mayor!

At the time of publication Michael Summers has now been appointed to the office of Mayor. Many thanks to all of the applicants who took the time to submit their names to become a public servant and share their talents with the City of Lakewood. Although the position of Mayor was filled without any interview process by a vote of City Council two council seats (one at-large and now Ward 3) still need to be filled. Over the next few weeks Council will conduct these interviews and make their decisions at a later date.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:16 AM, 11.16.2010

Jeff Sobieraj: Mayoral Applicant

I am not seeking this office with the intent of running in the fall. My reason for applying to fill this position is very simple: I have a skill set that I have developed over the course of my professional career that I believe can help this city bridge the leadership gap in the interim period between Mr. FitzGerald’s departure and the next opportunity for the public to have its voice heard.   

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:16 AM, 11.16.2010

Council-At-Large Applicants Talk To Lakewood

The following are the applicants for the soon vacant at-large council seat currently held by State Representative elect, Nickie Antonio. At the beginning of September, council put out a general call for applications with an initial deadline of October 1, 2010. Ten names were submitted for this deadline (in bold). With an extension until November 9, 2010, sixteen additional brave, community minded individuals added their names to the list.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:18 AM, 11.16.2010

Daniel Bartos: Council-At-Large Applicant

I am an attorney whose office is located on Madison Avenue, here in Lakewood. I have been a homeowner in Lakewood for the last 9 years. I have a familiarity with the needs of businesses and property owners in the Lakewood. I am also familiar with pro’s and con’s of being a rental property owner here in Lakewood.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:18 AM, 11.16.2010

Stephen Davis: Council-At-Large Applicant

I have been involved with a variety of businesses, organizations, committees, boards, groups, and commissions.

I am creative and deliberative. I can work in a group apolitically for the greater good.

On two Lakewood Charter Commissions, I not only engaged with our own elected and appointed officials, but went outside to other communities and groups for help and opinions. I was also the biggest advocate for public participation in the charter review process.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:18 AM, 11.16.2010

Tracy A. Jemison II: Council-At-Large Applicant

In the various leadership roles that I have been involved with in the community, I have proven myself to be an objective, deliberative and analytical decision maker. I am able to see multiple sides of an issue and help facilitate an appropriate resolution. This consensus building mind-set will be critical as Council continue's to face tough issues that will need to balance the impact on the residents/services and Lakewood's financial condition.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:18 AM, 11.16.2010

Jennifer Overstreet: Council-At-Large Applicant

My creativity is vital to problem solving and generating new ideas for keeping Lakewood residents employed, safe, healthy and happy. Among some of the issues facing Lakewood, we have unfunded federal mandates and an estimated decrease in population that will require creative strategies to avoid additional taxes.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:18 AM, 11.16.2010

David Stadler: Council-At-Large Applicant

In response to your inquiry, I believe that my professional, civic, and personal experiences have afforded me skills that can be translated into my successful representation of the people of Lakewood. As an attorney I am utilizing skills of advocacy, mediation and negotiation, and counsel on a daily basis. These skills allow me to develop the personal relationships necessary to effectively manage and resolve disputes.

Read Full Story
Volume 6, Issue 23, Posted 8:18 AM, 11.16.2010

Council Commends Billy Butler

Mary Louise Madigan (ward 4) presented a resolution commending Billy Butler “For demonstrating community spirit by raising money for charities and promoting environmental awareness.” The resolution also expresses Council appreciation in Billy’s commitment to bettering the lives of others...

Sensing competition from a younger namesake, Kevin Butler (ward 1) was quick out of the box to offer his congratulations to the younger name holder.

Billy’s parents were on hand for a ceremonial picture with the entire council and mayor.

Neighbor Andy Bodi and his wife Trudi, who have lived across the street from the Butlers for years said, “we are all proud of him on Arthur Avenue.”

In exclusive corridor comments to the Lakewood Observer, Billy Butler modestly allowed that he was “proud to receive this resolution.”

On the November ballot Issue 2, renewal of the Clean Ohio Fund will appear. Tom Bullock (ward 2) in a letter requesting council support for the issue listed arguments in favor of the issue.

This fund was first approved in 2000 in order to preserve natural areas and farmland, protecting waterways and redeveloping urban areas to foster economic growth. Since it began, Clean Ohio has protected over 26,000 acres of working family farms, created 216 miles of recreational trails and cleaned up more than 173 abandoned industrial sites, known as brown fields.

 

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 21, Posted 5:34 AM, 10.11.2008

Dog Safety Policy Rationale

Tagline: Ban on non-compliant dogs plus “no new pit bulls” policy with major ramp-up in enforcement and new animal safety “best practices” advisory board...
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 16, Posted 5:31 PM, 07.29.2008

Pit Bull Dogs Banned in Lakewood

By a vote of 6 to 1 Lakewood City Council tonight enacted legislation to ban pit bull dogs from Lakewood. Pit bull dogs currently living in Lakewood would not be affected by this ban if their owners comply with requirements outlined in the new law.
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 15, Posted 9:51 PM, 07.21.2008

St. James 100 Years Old, LCRAC Brand New

Calling it “Lakewood’s Cathedral” Dever introduced a resolution congratulating St. James Church on its 100th anniversary. Father Kline of the parish said “the church building is important, but it is only as important as the people of its community...”
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 13, Posted 1:38 PM, 06.22.2008

Frequently Asked Questions about the Proposed Pit Bull Ban

On May 19, I proposed a ban on those dogs commonly known as pit bulls. The current administration, including Mayor Edward FitzGerald, City Prosecutor Richard Neff, and the animal control officers, are supportive of the legislation. Since the introduction of this proposed ordinance, a number of Lakewood residents on both sides of the issue have approached me with questions. Below is a summary of those questions, along with his responses...
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 11, Posted 3:46 PM, 05.25.2008

Historic Designation OK’d – Pit Bulls KO’d?

Council president Michael Dever brought the May 19, 2008 council meeting to order at 7:40.

After a year of hard work by the Lakewood Planning Commission, the Heritage Advisory Board and advocacy by the Lakewood Historical Society, council finally passed revisions to the zoning code providing for Historic Preservation Districts (HPD) and Historical Property (HP) designations...

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 11, Posted 11:13 AM, 05.20.2008

Health Services Shifting, Police Initiative Unveiled

Health Services Shifting to County Agency

In a busy week for council, historic action was taken at the regular Monday meeting and the presentation of the Public Safety Initiative was heard at the committee of the whole on Wednesday.

Michael Dever is starting to imprint his style on meetings with a signature opening. In this case it was “Good evening. I’m Michael Dever, President of Lakewood City Council. Welcome to the April 21, 2008 meeting.” In the past, an abrupt, “the meeting will come to order,” usually served as a public salutation...

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 9, Posted 2:47 AM, 04.26.2008

Not Baaaaaaaaaad Council Saves Green, Going Green Lakewood's New Trash Pick Up Plan Announced

As a budget cutting measure, Lakewood’s City Council has passed an emergency resolution to end trash collection in Lakewood, effective April, 1st. Councilman Mike Summers, as chair of Council’s Finance Committee, has consistently made it clear that Lakewood can no longer afford business as usual. Trash removal became a target for budget cuts. He challenged the Fitzgerald administration, and fellow council members to come up with a solution.
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 7, Posted 11:37 PM, 03.31.2008

Tony Beno Recognized (and the Art of Resolutions)

Several years ago Dennis Albrecht assumed the position of City Engineer for Lakewood. One of his first major tasks was to implement an objective, engineering based evaluation of all the city’s streets. This evaluation was then used to rank the streets so that repairs and rebuilding could be prioritized. It also made street repaving less subject to politics and more responsive to actual needs. Albrecht was able to bring his background at the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) to bear on this project. Albrecht will be returning to ODOT to assume a major supervisory position...

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 6, Posted 6:14 AM, 03.14.2008

Council Fills Board Seats

Council president Mike Dever called the February 19, 2008 meeting to order at 7:36 PM. The first order of business was a resolution presented by Dever (at large) commending Thomas J. George for his public service as Mayor of Lakewood.

..
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 5, Posted 10:51 AM, 03.01.2008

This Board's For You

The beginning of the year brings the departure of board and commission members and the appointment of new members. Resolutions offered by Dever to council commended the service of two members of the Board of Building Standards/Architectural Board of Review/Sign Review Board. The two members who completed a full five-year term were George Kubas II, and Traci Nelligan. During their tenure they served as Chairman and Vice Chairman of that body...
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 4, Posted 12:02 PM, 02.11.2008

Experience-Is It Important?

At 7:34 Council President Dever called the January 22, 2008 meeting to order. The first docket item was the committee of the whole report which recommended appointing Brian Powers to the vacant council at large seat. Council received the report then passed a resolution to appoint Powers to fill the remaining two years of that seat’s term...

Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 3, Posted 1:53 PM, 01.29.2008

Dever Takes Charge

At 7:30 PM January 7, 2008 Mike Dever (at large) called the council meeting to order. By virtue of being the longest serving member of council the job fell to him to open the meeting. After the roll call, pledge to the flag, and moment of silence Dever then called for nominations for the post of President of Council...
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 2, Posted 11:55 AM, 01.13.2008

Geiger's Receives 75th Anniversary Resolution

At the final City Council meeting of the year, the Lakewood City Council and Lakewood Mayor, Thomas George, combined to present a special resolution to congratulate and honor Geiger’s for “…75 years of civic involvement in our community and for Geiger’s dedication to the ideals of the city of Lakewood and its citizens. The City of Lakewood wishes to express its gratitude to the Geiger family...
Read Full Story
Volume 4, Issue 1, Posted 10:27 AM, 01.02.2008

Council's Triple Play

It’s a new season, a new council, and a new administration and Lakewood City Council will execute a triple play. It will organize itself, appoint a new member, and make a budget.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 25, Posted 12:05 PM, 12.08.2007

Sikes In '08

In the political world having the year of an election follow your name is generally a campaign slogan. For Michelle Sikes ’08 is the year for the Olympics and the destination is Beijing.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 19, Posted 11:36 AM, 09.14.2007

Pizzas, PODS, and D.A.R.E.

Council President Robert Seelie called the July 2, 2007 meeting to order at 7:40. Fewer than ten people were in the audience for this meeting as compared to the 80 who attended the last meeting.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 14, Posted 10:55 AM, 07.05.2007

Perceptions? Realities?

With summer temperatures of 93 degrees outside over 100 people with various public issues sat in the audience for the June 18, 2007 council meeting.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 13, Posted 1:51 PM, 06.20.2007

Four Projects Set The Standard

Every year there are a select few homeowners and businesses who set the standard, or raise the bar when it comes to property renovations. They provide examples of what can be done with a home or storefront to make it reach its potential.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 11, Posted 3:23 PM, 05.23.2007

City, Blue Star Moms, Honor Holtz

Council President Robert Seelie called the May 7, 2007 meeting to order at 7:34 P.M.

Seated in the audience were members of the Lakewood Blue Star Moms. They are the mothers of our military men and women serving throughout the world. Council member Nickie Antonio (at large) joined them at one of their regular monthly meetings which are held at Lakewood Christian Church. She was particularly impressed by the fact that these mothers carry the burden of the knowledge that their children’s daily duties put them in harms’ way.

Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 10, Posted 2:59 PM, 05.13.2007

April Fools Over

Council reporting was diverted somewhat in the past month because of attention paid to internal council conflicts and the Observer’s efforts to make up to the minute reports. Despite those detours there were regular agenda items that were temporarily overlooked but will now be revisited.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 9, Posted 11:18 AM, 04.29.2007

48 Hour Coup Crumbles

On Friday the 13th a caucus of four council members tried but failed to change council leadership.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 8, Posted 2:41 PM, 04.16.2007

The Budget- Really Put To Bed?


The 2007 budget has been put to bed but the budgeting process is just taking a nap.

This year’s budget which was passed in a special meeting of council calls for expenditures in the amount of $38,534,502.

Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 7, Posted 2:02 PM, 03.31.2007

The Third Branch

Several times during the year the production schedule of the Observer and the meetings of the City Council don’t match up for a timely article. In those instances I will use the opportunity to expand our awareness of other areas of Lakewood government. Meanwhile, as always, you can keep up on council actions by visiting the City Council thread on the Observation Deck.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 5, Posted 10:49 AM, 03.04.2007

Paving Time is Here

Vice President Michael Dever took over the gavel from President Robert Seelie who was absent and called the February 5, 2007 council meeting to order.

The first order of business was a resolution offered by Mayor Thomas George and all council members commending the Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) for their assistance to the safety forces during a crisis on Fry Avenue two weekends ago.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 3, Posted 2:02 AM, 02.06.07

Catch A Train? Neighborhood Car Rental?

Have you had ever thought about riding a train out to the western suburbs or downtown? Or how about a neighborhood car rental? Council put the “wheels” in motion on those two ideas at its meeting of January 16, 2007.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 2, Posted 3:03 PM, 01.21.07

Still The Best Soapbox In Town

Just as the moon presents many faces to earth, city council can have different appearances meeting to meeting. Such was the case with the meetings at the end and the beginning of the year.
Read Full Story
Volume 3, Issue 1, Posted 2:02 PM, 01.05.07

Correction

The October 17, 2006 issue of the Lakewood Observer erroneously reported that Kevin Butler submitted a proposal that included a pay raise for council members. His proposal dealt only with the position of mayor. We regret this inaccuracy.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 23, Posted 5:05 PM, 11.06.06

Bin Recognized, Construction Continues: Council 10.16.2006

Council and Mayor Thomas George joined in a resolution honoring Scott Dueness, Executive Director of Cornucopia, Inc. (Nature's Bin), on receiving the Cliff Adler Heart in Business Award. The Bin has become a Lakewood institution. It began over thirty years ago at the east end of Madison Avenue. It moved to its current location on Sloane Avenue where the natural foods store has just completed updates due to its popularity. It has served as a training center for special needs individuals as well offering a unique selection of foods. The Adler award is quite prestigious in the natural retail food industry.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 22, Posted 11:11 AM, 10.29.06

Back To Work- Council 09.05.06

City Council was back to work after its August recess, although council committees maintained their work schedules. Members heard a mid-year finance report and the public works committee continued its education on how to make Lakewood bike friendly.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 19, Posted 3:03 PM, 09.13.06

New Streets, Wet Streets

The June 5, 2006 Council Meeting was called to order at 7:49 by president Robert Seelie.
Quite a few rows of seats were occupied by friends and coworkers of Eugenia Gorski to recognize her retirement. Council passed a resolution introduced by Mayor Thomas George praising Gorski's long and valued service in the city's health department. George said, "she has always been a special person to us at city hall. She has always been ahead of the curve and taken the initiative.
In response, Gorski said "I choose to live in the community that I love, Lakewood."
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 12, Posted 2:02 AM, 06.10.06

The Minuet Of Municipal Finance

Council president Robert Seelie called the May 15, 2006 meeting to order at 7:38 PM. The meeting began with a resolution presented by Mayor Thomas George and passed by council commending Captain James G. Petz of the Lakewood Fire Department for his many years of service.
Read Full Story
Volume 2, Issue 11, Posted 6:06 AM, 05.26.06