PTA Reflections Ceremony Celebrates Student Creativity

These students were honored at the District level for their PTA Reflections artwork.

The creativity and imagination of the Lakewood City Schools' students were celebrated at the annual Lakewood PTA Council Reflections Ceremony, held January 29 at Garfield Middle School. Seventy-three artworks from preschool through high school were honored. Of those 73 pieces of art, 28 were chosen to move on to the state PTA judging, with winners to be announced in late spring. Overall, 150 students across the eight PTA schools entered the contest.

The ceremony offered the young artists a chance to be recognized and congratulated by Superintendent Barmes, Board of Education members and other city leaders. Guest speaker was Lakewood High School graduate and Cleveland Print Room Executive Director Shari Wilkins.

The Reflections program offers students from schools with active PTAs the opportunity to create works of art for fun and recognition. Students in preschool through grade 12 are encouraged to submit works in seven arts areas: literature, dance choreography, film/video production, musical composition, photography, visual arts and special artist. All entries must follow a chosen theme, which this year was “Heroes Around Me.”

Each school with a PTA can send up to 24 entries to the district level judging. Among works chosen for district-level recognition, the highest scoring works as deemed by a panel of judges evaluating on artistic merit, creativity and interpretation of the theme, move on to Columbus to compete with students’ work from around the state.

The following students’ work will move on to statewide judging:

Emma Bach, Harding, visual arts
Owen Bees, Harding, photography
Sara Bitter, Lakewood High, visual arts
Zeylie Cheiky-Fakedej, Lakewood High, visual arts
Ellie Clark, Garfield, visual arts
Amos D’Agostino, Horace Mann, visual arts
Anna Daso, Harding, literature
Nora Germaine, Garfield, visual arts
Riley Geyer, Lakewood High, visual arts
Lillith Horschke, Lakewood High, visual arts
Evelyn Jenkins, Lakewood High, visual arts
Jacob Kvac, Lakewood High, photography
McKenzie Lane, Lakewood High, visual arts
Isabella Lara, Garfield, literature
Sean Miller, Grant, visual arts
Deanna Patera, Roosevelt, visual arts
Emily Perry, Lakewood High, visual arts
Anna Rigdon, Lakewood High, literature
Ursula Rosen, Grant, music composition
Claire Schuppel, Lakewood High, literature
Sarah Scott, Garfield, visual arts
Julia Thomas, Lincoln, visual arts
Sebastian Tougouma, Lincoln, visual arts
Lillian Utrata, Lakewood High, visual arts
Meghan Walcheck, Garfield, literature
Tim Walcheck, Garfield, literature
Symon Worthington, Harding, visual arts
Joanna Wright, Harding, visual arts

Congratulations to all our talented artists and to the hard-working Reflections Committee members.

Read More on Schools
Volume 15, Issue 3, Posted 2:00 PM, 02.05.2019