Cleveland Stonewall Democrats Announce First Endorsements In Election 2017

On Thursday, July 13, 2017, the membership of Cleveland Stonewall Democrats ("CSD") heard from almost thirty candidates and then spent nearly two hours discussing endorsements before voting via private ballot on races for Cleveland Mayor and Council, East Cleveland Mayor, Lakewood City Council At-Large, and North Olmsted City Council Ward 2. In order to receive the endorsement a candidate must have completed a questionnaire and was also given the option to participate in a screening committee interview and speak to the membership at the endorsement meeting. A candidate must receive the support of 60% of the membership present to be endorsed.

"This process allows us to build bridges in our mission to promote the pro-equality agenda across our region with both new and familiar community leaders. We view this process as an opportunity to advance this shared mission by building relationships with both familiar and new leaders across our region." said CSD president Rob Rivera.

Established in 2000, Cleveland Stonewall Democrats is a volunteer independent Democratic club of LGBT and allied Democrats from across Northeast Ohio with the mission of educating, endorsing, electing and holding accountable pro-equality Democrats. The endorsement process and working to elect endorsed candidates is the primary means for advancing this mission.

Cleveland Stonewall Democrats is proud to endorse the following candidates in Election 2017:

Cleveland Mayor: Frank Jackson

Cleveland City Council Ward 1: Terrell Pruitt

Cleveland City Council Ward 2: Debra Lewis-Curlee

Cleveland City Council Ward 3: Kerry McCormack

Cleveland City Council Ward 5: Phyllis Cleveland

Cleveland City Council Ward 6: Blaine Griffin

Cleveland City Council Ward 7: Mansfield Frazier

Cleveland City Council Ward 8: Michael Polensek

Cleveland City Council Ward 10: Anthony Hairston

Cleveland City Council Ward 11: Dona Brady

Cleveland City Council Ward 12: Anthony Brancatelli

Cleveland City Council Ward 13: Kevin Kelley

Cleveland City Council Ward 15: Matt Zone

Cleveland City Council Ward 16: Brian Kazy

Cleveland City Council Ward 17: Martin Keane

Lakewood City Council At-Large: Tom Bullock, Cindy Marx, Ryan Nowlin

North Olmsted City Council Ward 2: Chris Glassburn

No candidate earned the necessary 60% support for Cleveland City Council Wards 4 and 14. No candidate earned the necessary 60% support for East Cleveland Mayor. No candidate sought CSD's endorsement in Cleveland City Council Ward 9. These races may be reconsidered at the next endorsement meeting on September 14. On September 14, races in the following communities will be considered: Berea, Beachwood, Cleveland Heights, East Cleveland, North Royalton, Olmsted Falls, Parma, Rocky River, Shaker Heights, South Euclid, and University Heights.

For more information visit

Volume 13, Issue 16, Posted 6:15 PM, 08.15.2017