LHS Academic Challenge Team To Compete At Nationals And In TV Show Title Round

Over the past few months, the Lakewood High Academic Challenge team has been competing both on Channel 5’s weekly TV show, “Academic Challenge” and in Southwest Conference matches. The team's point total on WEWS was the highest of the season (78 schools competed). You can watch the team on June 17 in the Channel 5 “Academic Challenge” Championship. Recently, the team finished second of 16 teams in a regional tournament in Lancaster and competed in the tournament’s state finals in Columbus May 13.

In the conference (nine schools), the team finished runner-up in both the regular season matches and the conference tournament. The team lost only one match in the regular season this year, their five-year total in conference dual matches is an outstanding 37-2. Because of its success (2nd place of 64 teams) last year at the National Invitational Tournament held in Washington, D.C., the team will again be competing at the national level, this time in Chicago June 10-12. 

To attend the national tournament, the team is seeking financial assistance. The estimated cost  for the 12 students going to the tournament including registration, lodgings, travel, tolls, and meals will be approximately $5,300.  

Checks should be made out to Lakewood Academic Challenge Team – LHS, and sent to Lakewood High School, c/o Robert Sedlak, Mathematics Department, West Shore Career Tech, 14100 Franklin Blvd., Lakewood, Ohio 44107.

Any question please call advisers Bob Sedlak or Peter Petto.

Peter Petto –440-724-4629
Bob Sedlak – 216-849-2160

Team roster (those headed to Chicago are indicated with an asterisk): 

Seniors:                             Juniors:

Ian Bell  *                               Brian Donahoe           Kevin Cush  *               Erika Hakko  *        Seamus Holian *

Evan Suttell *                        Abe Dalisky  *             Calvin Dolatowski     Veronica Lee  *     Damien Jouriles *

                                              Andrew Van Auken      Zach Howe

Sophomores:                                                                                             Freshman:

Tim Daso *                John Bobik            Nikoy Norris                             Evan Bell *                   Alice King

Mike Ferrone            Nick Cleary           Franc Lleshaj                            Aidan Bohac *             Kathryn Oleksa *

Volume 13, Issue 10, Posted 3:01 PM, 05.16.2017